Linguistics Forum

Reply to topic

View previous topic :: View next topic
lingopie

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2012 5:50 am
Post subject: Discourse Analysis of written texts.

Hello!

I just registered and may have posted this in the wrong section.
I apologize if this is true. Embarassed

I am a student of Applied Linguistics. Hoping to become a translator of technical nature. Now, I have quite a problem here. I have always been fond of the practical part of any translation - searching for whatever I need to produce a translation of good quality, disregarding theoretical knowledge too often.

I need to conduct a discourse analysis of a technical text (have translated it). The problem is, the more I keep reading on the issue of discourse the less clear it is to me. Mostly because discourse analysis seems to be done more in-depth with spoken language.

What I am humbly asking for, is to navigate me, help me understand what issues should I look at when doing DA of a written text? So far, cohesion, coherence, the relevant devices (grammatical, lexical) seem as the proper object of analysis within DA of a written text. Discourse markers I have also looked at. Types of discourse confuse me, I have never been able to understand the connection between discourse and genre/register in terms of written texts.

I am in desperate need of guidance. I can and will read any sources I hope some of you can provide me with, I am not lazy, its just discourse seems quite a vague and hard to comprehend concept.

Thank you in advance!
djr33
Chomsky

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2012 8:01 pm
Post subject:

From someone inexperienced with discourse analysis, here are three points that might help you, just from my observations from others in my department, etc.